NIAGARA TRANSIT COMMISSION MINUTES

NTC 7-2024 Tuesday, July 16, 2024 Council Chamber - In Person and Electronic Meeting Niagara Region Headquarters, Campbell West 1815 Sir Isaac Brock Way, Thorold, ON

Board Members:	E. Beauregard (Port Colborne), D. Dodge (St. Catharines)*, R. Freake (Grimsby)*, B. Grant (Wainfleet)*, A. Longo (Thorold)*, J. Morocco (Niagara Falls)*, W. Olson (Pelham), JD Pachereva (Lincoln), W. Redekop (Vice Chair) (Fort Erie)*
Ex-officio Members (Non-Voting):	J. Bradley, Regional Chair
Absent/Regrets:	W. Campbell (Niagara Falls), M. Mavridis (Niagara-on-the-Lake), C. Ratzlaff (St. Catharines), W. Reilly (West Lincoln), M. Siscoe (Board Chair) (St. Catharines), L. Van Vliet (Welland); Ex-officio Member: R. Tripp (Chief Administrative Officer, Niagara Region)
Staff:	R. Addy, Deputy General Manager, Transit Operations, D. Gibbs, Director, Legal & Court Services (Niagara Region), R. Hill, Legislative Assistant, S. Muhic, Program Financial Specialist (Niagara Region), AM. Norio, Regional Clerk, D. Snow, Program Financial Analyst, C. Stout, General Manager, Niagara Transit Commission, H. Talbot, Manager, Integration & Transformation, L. Tracey, Communications Consultant, E. Zahra, Deputy General Manager, Customer Experience
Others Present:	K. Bergeron, M. Amsler, D. Watts, D. Hughes, and P. Sprague, HDR Inc.
	* indicates participants who attended the meeting electronically, all others participated in person

1. CALL TO ORDER

In the absence of Board Chair Siscoe and due to the inability of Vice Chair Redekop to chair the meeting, Member Pachereva was requested to chair the meeting.

Acting Board Chair Pachereva called the meeting to order at 3:10 p.m.

2. LAND ACKNOWLEDGEMENT STATEMENT

Acting Board Chair Pachereva read the Land Acknowledgement Statement.

3. ADOPTION OF AGENDA

Moved by W. Olson Seconded by E. Beauregard

That Agenda NTC 7-2024 **BE ADOPTED.**

Carried

4. DISCLOSURES OF PECUNIARY INTEREST

There were no disclosures of pecuniary interest.

5. ADOPTION OF MINUTES

5.1 Niagara Transit Commission Minutes NTC 6-2024

Tuesday, June 18, 2024

Moved by R. Freake Seconded by J. Morocco

That Minutes NTC 6-2024 being the Open Session minutes of the Niagara Transit Commission meeting held on Tuesday, June 18, 2024, 2024, **BE ADOPTED**.

Carried

6. PRESENTATIONS

There were no presentations.

7. <u>DELEGATIONS</u>

There were no delegations.

8. ITEMS FOR CONSIDERATION

8.1 <u>NTC 16-2024</u>

Niagara Transit Commission Brand Recommendation

Drew Watts, Deirdre Hughes, and Pierce Sprague, HDR Inc., provided information respecting Niagara Transit Commission Brand Direction. Topics of the presentation included:

- Our Process
- Engagement To Date
- Final Brand Foundation
- Visual Brand Concept

Moved by B. Grant Seconded by R. Freake

That Report NTC 16-2024, dated July 16, 2024, respecting Niagara Transit Commission Brand Recommendation, **BE RECEIVED** and the following recommendations **BE APPROVED**:

- 1. That the Niagara Transit Commission (NTC) Board **APPROVE** the proposed operating brand name change of Niagara Region Transit to Niagara Transit;
- That the Niagara Transit Commission Board APPROVE the proposed brand for the Niagara Transit Commission as presented; and
- 3. That this report **BE FORWARDED** to Regional Council for consideration at its meeting on July 25, 2024, seeking approval of the name proposed in recommendation 1 pursuant to section 2.1 of Niagara Transit Commission's Establishing By-law.

Carried

Carla Stout, General Manager, noted that while the Board had approved the brand name change, further refinements to the brand "logo" would be undertaken by the consultant and presented to the Board at a future date.

9. CONSENT ITEMS FOR INFORMATION

There were no consent items for information.

10. OTHER BUSINESS

There were no items of other business.

11. NEXT MEETING

The next meeting will be held on Tuesday, August 27, 2024, at 3:00 p.m. in the Council Chamber, Regional Headquarters.

12. ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 3:48 p.m.

J.D. Pachereva Acting Chair, Niagara Transit Commission Ann-Marie Norio Regional Clerk